Islamic Studies

Islamic studies have a central role to play in managing the personal, social, cultural, moral, academic, religious and spiritual aspects of the pupils’ lives. They enhance pupils’ Islamic values and thereby help them to put the Islamic way of life into practice as commanded by Allah in the Holy Qur’an and indicated by the Prophet Muhammad’s (SAW) Sunnah.


At Key Stage 3 (Year 7 – 9) Pupils Will:

  • Learn about Islamic beliefs and practices
  • Learn Seerat‐e‐Rasool (SAW) and early Muslim history
  • Acquire knowledge about the Holy Qur’an and the Hadis
  • Know about Islamic laws (Shariah)
  • Be taught about Islamic Economics (Zakah, Inheritance)
  • Learn about Islamic political institutions (Khilaafah, Shura, Da’wah)
  • Spiritual Development (Tasawwuf)

At Key Stage 4 (Years 10 ‐ 11) Pupils Will:

Continue to enhance their understanding, spiritual development (Tasawwuf) as well as revising in greater depth the subjects already covered at KEYSTAGE 3. They then prepare for the G.C.S.E. examination in Islamic Studies.